Top listeners:

skip_previous skip_next
00:00 00:00
  • play_arrow

    ALMOND 94.3 FM Ibadan



todayMarch 27, 2024 7

share close

The process of nominating the new Olubadan was stalled on Tuesday, as eight kingmakers boycotted the meeting, convened by the Head of the Ibadan Traditional Council, Chief Rashidi Ladoja.

The meeting was convened by Ladoja, who is also the Otun Olubadan, at the ancient Mapo Hall, to begin the process that will lead to the emergence of the next Olubadan.

Only Chief Ladoja was there as a member of the Olubadan in Council, while eight out of eleven members shunned the meeting.

Report says that the boycott of the meeting may not be unconnected to the strained relationship between Chief Ladoja and other nine members of the Olubadan-in-Council during the controversial beaded crowns given by the late governor of the state, Senator Abiola Ajimobi.

Ladoja kicked against the review of the chieftaincy declaration of Ibadanland.

The Olubadan-in-Council has eleven members including Iyalode.

The kingmakers are Balogun, Otun Balogun, Osi Balogun, Ashipa Balogun and the Ekerin Balogun. Others are Otun Olubadan, Osi Olubadan, Ashipa Olubadan, Ekerin Olubadan and Iyalode.

Several calls to the Ekerin Olubadan, Oba Amidu Ajibade, for boycotting the meeting were not answered.

Speaking with newsmen after the botched meeting, Ladoja said that the other members felt that the Olubadan-designate, Oba Owolabi Olakulehin, has not spoken to them.

According to the Ibadan high chief and former Governor of Oyo state the other members said that they said they were not able to ascertain Oba Olakulehin’s health condition. Adding that when his ready,”He will talk to them and we are going to have the meeting again”.

According to tradition Olubadan designate who is a member of the council ought to attend the meeting where his nomination as the next Olubadan is supposed to be ratified.

Written by: Almond News

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Don't miss a beat